logo
Welcome on the home page of the 12th Winterthur Chess Week!
(6-14 October 2012)

News

No Winterthur Chess Week 2013/2014
Posted on by admin

Dear chess players,

The Winterthur Chess Federation (SVW) discontinues the organisation of the Winterthur Chess Week in the years 2013 and 2014.

The SVW is unable to provide the human resources and the venue for this year’s edition of this traditional event; in 2014, the Winterthur Chess Week would coincide with the Swiss Single Championships which will then take place in Bern as part of the 125th anniversary of the Swiss Chess Federation. The SVW will evaluate and communicate in due time whether the Winterthur Chess Week will be held again in 2015.

We would like to thank everyone involved for the continuing loyalty and the confidence shown to us in the past years.

Tight win for GM Perunovic
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

The winners of the Master Open: GM Mikhail Ulybin (2nd), GM Milos Perunovic (1st) und GM Evgeny Gleizerov (3rd)

GM Milos Perunovic (SRB) has been best in the final race, winning the tournament, closely followed by GM Mikhail Ulybin and GM Evgeny Gleizerov. In the last round, Ulybin had to accept a draw against Dennis Kaczmarczyk who is the one and only among the untitled players to have finished amidst the gandmasters. Further prize ranks: GM Danilo Milanovic, Dennis Kaczmarczyk, GM Dejan Pikula, Patrick Eschmann, Geoffrey Myers, Gabriel Gähwiler (best Junior), and Davide Arcuti. Further ranking see table.

The special prizes in the Master Open are won by: WFM Julia Novkovic (best Lady), GM Dejan Pikula (Checkmate prize), Davide Arcuti (best Junior) und Carmi Haas (best Senior)

Special prizes for players outside the prize ranks: Davide Arcuti (best Junior). WFM Julia Novkovic (best lady), Carmi Haas (best Senior), Parvis Nabavi (best u2200).

Winners of the General Open: Heinz Ernst (2nd), Nicola Schmid (1st) and Lukas Schwander (3rd)

Winner of the General Open is Nicola Schmid from Zurich, winning six and drawing three games. Half a point back is Senior Heinz Ernst, third is Junior Lukas Schwander, one full point back. Further prize ranks: Kirivongkat Poun (former leader), Hans Joller, Peter Wallmüller, Alfred Pfleger, Leonard Züst, Thomas Wunderlin, and Alfred Dönni. Further ranking see table.

Special prizes for players outside the prize ranks: Martin Schweighoffer (best junior), Gilda Thode (beste lady), Heinz Iseli (best senior), Samyo Bounlom (best u1800), Rainer Roland (best u1600).

Prizes for the fastest checkmate per category, sponsored by Helvetia Haus, go to GM Dejan Pikula (1st round, checkmate in move 25) and to Hans Joller (2nd round, checkmate in move 12).

GM Milanovic Blitz Winner
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Yesterday’s Blitz event has been won by GM Milanovic, the only one undefeated, with 8 points out of nine rounds. Second is GM Perunovic with 7,5 points. Untitled Jonas Lampert is excellent third, better than three players with GM, IM and FM titles. Further ranking see table.

Ulybin top again, first GM loss
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Dennis Kaczmarcyk (Master Open, GER)

Well, it took a while, but in the eighth round it happened: a GM hast been defeated by an untitled player, that is, GM Pikula by Dennis Kaczmarczyk wo even had to play as Black. Ulybin only has to win the last round, but it has to be noted that his closest chasers both can play lower rated opponents than Ulybin’s.

In the General Open, Poun has caught up again, now leading together with Schmid and Joller. All three have equal points. In the last round, Schmid has the lowest rated opponent. But this has not much to say because every player sitting at a top board in the last round belongs to the strongest ones in this category.

 

Ulybin catches up again, hot Finish in the General Open
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

In the Master Open, GM Ulybin won against Lampert in the seventh round. Now he is joint leader with Gleizerov whereas Pikula is lagging now by a full point.

Yesterday a dead race, today the big launch of the finish in the General Open. Ex-Leader Poun has been taken by a new duo of leaders: Schmid and Joller, both with six points.

Gleizerow in the Master, nine draws in the General Open
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Defeating Pikula in the sixth round, GM Evgeny Gleizerov is the second sole leader of the tournament. Will there be a third one? The situation in the front pack is so close that this would not be a real surprise.

In the General Tournament all nine games at the top boards have been drawn. Comment see yesterday.

Forfait wins Team Blitz
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Team Forfait (Nuri, FM Schiendorfer, Gähwiler, Schärer) wins with 20 out of 22 possible points, followed very closely by Wurzelturm (rooted rook) – do they never castle? – (GM Jenni, Kaczmarczyk, Lang, Freuler) and with a 6 point lag by Glicoric 2 (GM Perunovic, Mikavica M, Rasovic, Mikavica D.). Further ranking see table.

Kirivongkat Poun with the maximum of points
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Nothing new in the fifth round of the Master Open: The grandmasters drew each other, and one of them, Dejan Pikula, marked the full point against junior Gabriel Gähwiler.

Hans Joller (r.) – Kirivongkat Poun (l.) in the General Open

Thus it may be justified to put the focus on the General Open. Five rounds, five wins, five points for Kirivongkat Poun. He is sole leader at the moment. His closest chasers are Nicola Schmid and Hans Joller. Both of them have conceded only one draw.

Big gathering of leaders
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

Daniel Fischer, Winner of the Youth Open

In the fourth round, one preliminary decision has occurred, namely, that there is no such decision: All five Grandmasters have gathered at the top of the table, all within a tiny range of a half point. Ulybin may feel to ruminate this situation when he remembers the winning chances of a cyclist just having been caught up. Might the power of momentum prevail also in chess? The last half of the tournament will tell.

In the general tournament, we see a leading duo. Tomorrow is about the question if either Urs Leuenberger or Kirivongkat Poun will manage to become the solo leader or here, too, we see a big gathering.

Youth Open is finished. As expected, Daniel Fischer has won, without losing a single game. With excellent 6,5 out of 7 he is one full point in front of Hannah Minas, and two points ahead of David Walk. We are specially happy to see a girl in front of five boys. A sign of dawn for women’s chess? We hope so. Further ranking see table.

View photo collection

Old Winner is New Leader
Posted on by Christian Bachmann

In the third round Mikhail Ulybin, this year again, has taken the lead, defeating GM Milanovic. All others in the Master Open have drawn at least once. Swiss Junior Gabriel Gähwiler, besides three grandmasters, is one of the closest chasers.

In the general tournament, all have taken their starting places for the real race which will be launched not before the second half of the tournament. The leaders? Still more than names that are worth to be mentioned here. Be patient, please, and this is, by the way, also a good suggestion when sitting at the boards.

In the youth tournament, five out of seven rounds have been played. Daniel Fischer is the clear leader. He has yet to play against two of the end of the table, thus it is very unlikely that he may be stopped from winning.

Gabriel Gähwiler (SUI) – Boris Haufler (SUI)

 

Organiser

logo SVW

Chess Federation Winterthur
(Schachverband Winterthur )

Venue

logo hotel toess

Hotel Töss
Zürcherstrasse 106,
CH-8406 Winterthur

The Hotel Zentrum Töss offers special prices for chess players!

Single room: CHF 100 (includes breakfast)
Double room: CHF 120 (CHF 60 per person; includes breakfast)

Information

Email:
mail

Organising committee

Martin Ballmann (president of the organising committee); Heinrich Scherrer (finances); Stefan Zollinger (tournament director); Christian Bachmann (reports); Sebastian Gattenlöhner (webmaster)

logo
Willkommen auf den Seiten der 12. Winterthurer Schachwoche!
(6. - 14. Oktober 2012)

Aktuelles

Keine Winterthurer Schachwoche 2013/2014
Publiziert am von admin

Liebe Schachspielerinnen, liebe Schachspieler

Der Schachverband Winterthur (SVW) verzichtet 2013 und 2014 auf die Durchführung der traditionellen Winterthurer Schachwoche im Oktober. Es war dem SVW dieses Jahr nicht möglich, die personellen Ressourcen und Räumlichkeiten für die Organisation dieses traditionellen Anlasses bereitzustellen. 2014 wird auf die Durchführung der Schachwoche verzichtet, weil praktisch zur gleichen Zeit die Schweizer Einzelmeisterschaft als Jubiläumsanlass des SSB im Herbst in Bern stattfindet. Der Schachverband Winterthur wird rechtzeitig prüfen und informieren, ob die Schachwoche 2015 wieder durchgeführt werden kann.

Wir danken allen Beteiligten für die jahrelange Treue und das uns entgegengebrachte Vertrauen.

GM Perunovic knapper Turniersieger
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Die Sieger des Meisteropens: GM Michail Ulybin (2.), GM Milos Perunovic (1.) und GM Jewgeni Gleiserow (3.)

Punktgleich mit zwei Verfolgern hat GM Milos Perunovic (SRB) sich den Turniersieg im Endspurt sichern können, gefolgt von Vorjahressieger GM Michail Ulybin und GM Jewgeni Gleiserow. Ulybin musste in der letzten Runde Dennis Kaczmarczyk ein Remis zugestehen, der damit als einziger Titelloser in die Kreise der Grossmeister eindringen konnte. Auf den weiteren Preisrängen folgen GM Danilo Milanovic, Dennis Kaczmarczyk, GM Dejan Pikula, Patrick Eschmann, Geoffrey Myers, Gabriel Gähwiler (bester Junior) und Davide Arcuti. Weitere Ränge siehe Tabelle.

Spezialpreise im Meisteropen gingen an: WFM Julia Novkovic (beste Dame), GM Dejan Pikula (schnellstes Matt), Davide Arcuti (bester Junior) und Carmi Haas (bester Senior)

Spezialpreise für Spieler ausserhalb der Preisränge: Davide Arcuti (bester Junior). WFM Julia Novkovic (beste Dame) Carmi Haas (bester Senior), Parvis Nabavi (bester u2200).

Die Sieger des Allgemeinen Opens: Heinz Ernst (2.), Nicola Schmid (1.) und Lukas Schwander (3.)

Das allgemeine Turnier gewinnt Nicola Schmid aus Zürich mit sechs Siegen und drei Remisen. Einen halben Punkt zurück folgt der Senior Heinz Ernst, Ostermundigen. Dritter mit einem Punkt Rückstand ist der Junior Lukas Schwander aus Luzern. Auf den weiteren Preisrängen, die meisten punktgleich mit dem Dritten, folgen der vormalige Leader Kirovongkat Poun, Hans Joller, Peter Wallmueller, Alfred Pfleger, Leonard Züst, Thomas Wunderlin und Alfred Dönni. Weitere Ränge siehe Tabelle.

Spezialpreise für Spieler ausserhalb der Preisränge: Martin Schweighoffer (bester Junior), Gilda Thode (beste Dame), Heinz Iseli (bester Senior), Samyo Bounlom (bester u1800), Rainer Roland (bester u1600).

Die Preise für das schnellste Matt pro Kategorie, gestiftet von Helvetia Haus, gehen an GM Dejan Pikula (1. Runde Matt im 25. Zug) und an Hans Joller (2. Runde Matt im 12. Zug).

GM Milanovic gewinnt Blitz
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Als Einziger ungeschlagen und mit nur zwei Remisen hat GM Milanovic das gestrige Einzelblitzturnier mit 8 Punkten aus 9 Partien gewonnen und GM Perunovic (7,5 Punkte) auf den zweiten Platz verwiesen. Hervorragender Dritter wurde der titellose Jonas Lampert, der je einen GM, IM und FM hinter sich liess. Weitere Plätze siehe Tabelle.

Ulybin erneut top, erster GM gestrauchelt
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Dennis Kaczmarcyk (Meister Open, GER)

Nun ist es also doch noch passiert. Sieben Runden lang haben sich die Grossmeister von keinem Titellosen schlagen lassen müssen. Doch in der achten erwischte es GM Pikula, besiegt von Dennis Kaczmarczyk, der sogar die schwarzen Steine führen musste. Ulybin muss jetzt noch die letzte Runde gewinnen, denn seine beiden Verfolger haben deutlich niedriger gewertete Gegner.

Im allgemeinen Turnier hat Poun wieder zur Spitze aufgeschlossen und führt punktgleich vor Schmid und Joller. In der letzten Runde hat Schmid zwar den elo-schwächsten Gegner. Zu bedenken gilt aber, dass jeder, der in der letzten Runde mitspielt, zu den stärksten im Feld gehört.

 

Ulybin holt wieder auf, Endspurt im Allgemeinen Open
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Im Meisterturnier konnte GM Ulybin mit einem Sieg gegen Lampert in der siebten seinen minimalen Rückstand wettmachen. Er führt gemeinsam mit Gleiserow, während Pikula schon einen ganzen Punkt distanziert ist.

Nach einem toten Rennen am Vortag ist jetzt der Schlussspurt im allgemeinen Turnier so richtig lanciert. Auf Biegen und Brechen wurde der Sieg angestrebt, und so sieht sich Ex-Leader Poun plötzlich hinter ein neues Führungsduo zurückgesetzt: Schmid und Joller, beide mit 6 Punkten.

Gleiserow bei den Meistern, neun Remisen im Allgemeinen
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Mit einem Sieg gegen Pikula ist GM Jewgeni Gleiserow nach der sechsten Runde allein in Führung gegangen. Aber die Situation an der Spitze ist so eng, dass sich sogar der heute besiegte Pikula noch minimale Hoffnungen auf den Sieg machen kann.

Im allgemeinen Turnier gab es an den Spitzenbrettern nicht weniger als neun Remisen. Kommentar siehe gestern.

Forfait gewinnt Teamblitz
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Die Mannschaft Forfait (Nuri, FM Schiendorfer, Gähwiler, Schärer) gewinnt mit 20 von 22 möglichen Punkten knapp einen Punkt vor Wurzelturm – rochieren die denn nie? fragt sich der Berichterstatter – (GM Jenni, Kaczmarczyk, Lang, Freuler) und 6 Punkte vor Glicoric 2 (GM Perunovic, Mikavica M, Rasovic, Mikavica D.). Weitere Ränge siehe Tabelle.
Zur Schlusstabelle

Kirivongkat Poun allein mit dem Punktemaximum
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Der Start zur zweiten Turnierhälfte brachte ganz oben nichts Neues: Die Grossmeister remisierten unter ihresgleichen, und einer, Dejan Pikula, punktete gegen den Junior Gabriel Gähwiler.

Hans Joller (r.) – Kirivongkat Poun (l.) im Allgemeinen Open

Richten wir den Blick deshalb auf das allgemeine Turnier. Hier hat sich mit fünf Siegen aus fünf Partien Kirivongkat Poun vorläufig allein an die Spitze gesetzt. Seine engsten Verfolger sind Nicola Schmid und Hans Joller. Beide haben erst ein Remis abgegeben.

Der grosse Zusammenschluss an der Spitze
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

Daniel Fischer, Gewinner des Jugendopens

Nach der vierten Runde ist eine erste Vorentscheidung gefallen – nämlich dass sie nicht gefallen ist: Alle fünf Grossmeister haben sich geschlossen an die Spitze gesetzt, nur durch ein halbes Pünktchen getrennt. Ulybin wird sich seine Gedanken machen müssen, wenn er an die Gewinnchancen eines Radfahrers denkt, der soeben eingeholt worden ist. Ob das im Schach ähnlich ist und ob auch hier das Momentum eine Rolle spielt, wird sich zeigen.

Im allgemeinen Turnier hat sich ein Spitzenduo gebildet. Morgen geht es darum, ob sich entweder Urs Leuenberger oder Kirivongkat Poun mit einem Sieg etwas absetzen kann oder ob es auch hier wieder zum grossen Zusammenschluss kommt.

Das Jugendturnier ist zu Ende. Wie erwartet hat Daniel Fischer gewonnen. Er hat keine einzige Partie verloren. Mit hervorragenden 6,5 aus 7 distanziert er Hannah Minas und David Walk um einen bzw. zwei volle Punkte. Besonders glücklich sind wir, ein Mädchen vor fünf Jungen zu sehen. Ein Zeichen der Morgenröte für das Damenschach? Hoffen wir doch sehr! Weitere Plätze siehe Tabelle.

Zum Fotoalbum

Alter Sieger ist neuer Leader
Publiziert am von Christian Bachmann

In der dritten Runde hat Vorjahressieger Michail Ulybin erneut die Führung übernommen, indem er diesmal auch gegen GM Milanovic voll punktete. Alle anderen im Meisterturnier haben schon mindestens ein Remis abgegeben. Zur engsten Verfolgergruppe gehört, neben drei Grossmeistern, auch der Neftenbacher Junior Gabriel Gähwiler.

Im allgemeinen Turnier sind nach drei Runden die Startplätze um den Titelkampf so nach und nach bezogen. Alle haben erfahren dürfen oder müssen, wo sie stehen, wenn das Rennen in der zweiten Turnierhälfte so richtig losgeht. Die Spitze umfasst noch immer mehr Namen als hier zu nennen wären. Der Kommentator übt sich in Geduld, und die ist auch allen Spielern am Brett sehr zu empfehlen.

Im Jugendturnier zeichnet sich nach fünf von sieben Runden schon eine deutliche Führung des topgesetzten Daniel Fischer ab. Da er noch gegen zwei vom Tabellenende antreten darf, wird ihm der Sieg kaum mehr zu nehmen sein.

Gabriel Gähwiler (SUI) – Boris Haufler (SUI) im Meisteropen

 

Patronat

Schachverband Winterthur
logo Schachverband Winterthur

Spielort

logo hotel toess

Hotel Töss
Zürcherstrasse 106,
CH-8406 Winterthur

Das Hotel Zentrum Töss bietet Teilnehmern der Winterthurer Schachwoche einen reduzierten Übernachtungstarif an!

Information

E-Mail:
mail

Organisationskomitee

Martin Ballmann (Gesamtorganisation); Heinrich Scherrer (Kasse); Stefan Zollinger; Christian Bachmann (Rundenberichte); Sebastian Gattenlöhner (Internet)